Franken to host 5th annual Hotdish Competition

Posted by HBC Newsdesk April 20, 2015

On Wednesday, U.S. Sen. Al Franken (D-Minn.) will host his fifth annual competition to determine which member of the Minnesota Congressional Delegation makes the best hotdish casserole.

He will be joined by the rest of the Minnesota delegation, including Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Reps. Collin Peterson (D-Minn.), Betty McCollum (D-Minn.), John Kline (R-Minn.), Keith Ellison (D-Minn.), Tim Walz (D-Minn.), Rick Nolan (D-Minn.), Erik Paulsen (R-Minn.), and Tom Emmer (R-Minn.).

“For the past five years, the Hotdish Off has been a time for us to put partisanship aside and find out who makes the best hotdish,” said Sen. Franken. “I’m looking forward to seeing what everyone comes up with this year and spending some quality time with the other members of the Minnesota delegation.”

In 2011, Sen. Franken started the friendly competition as a way to bring the delegation together to put partisanship aside and celebrate a Minnesota culinary tradition. Each member will provide a hotdish—traditional Minnesota fare, similar to a casserole—which will be judged based on taste, Minnesota ingredients, and originality.

Rep. Walz’s “Turkey Trot Tater-Tot Hotdish” took the top prize in 2014, and his “Hermann the German Hotdish” took first place in 2013. In 2012, Sen. Franken’s “Mom’s Mahnomin Madness Hotdish” and former Rep. Chip Cravaack’s (R-Minn.) “Minnesota Wild Strata Hotdish” tied for first place. Sen. Klobuchar took top honors in 2011 with her “Taconite Tater-Tot Hotdish.”

After the event, recipes of all of the entries will be posted on Sen. Franken’s website at

Comments are closed.

Connect with us

Featured Video

Catch the latest from HBC TV 25 Today

Latest Tweets